Search

Athletics

The Nonnewaug High School Athletics program is designed to give our student athletes the opportunity to participate in competitive sports at the high school level while developing life-long skills such as goal setting, leadership and time management.


Welcome to Nonnewaug High School Athletics, home of the Nonnewaug Chiefs. Many valuable lessons are taught through athletics including teamwork, cooperation, hard work, respect and good sportsmanship and our student athletes learn and develop these skills while gaining positive social relationships with teammates and coaches. Our high school athletic community is filled with positive mentors both on and off the field and being part of any Chiefs' team gives student athletes a sense of community, the ability to represent Region 14 and the opportunity to be applauded for their achievements.

The Chiefs compete with 16 Varsity and Junior Varsity teams including a Unified Sports division. We are members of the Berkshire and Pequot Leagues and are under the umbrella of the Connecticut Interscholastic Athletic Conference.

Nonnewaug High School takes great pride in its athletic program. We invite you to become an integral part of Nonnewaug’s athletic family. In order to do so, an athlete must adhere to certain rules and guidelines and each prospective student athlete and family is asked to carefully review our policies in our Student Athlete Handbook. In addition, all student athletes must have a current physical on file with the school nurse, parents and students must sign up using FamilyID* prior to the start of each season, and students must take at least four (4) quarter Carnegie Units of work or its equivalent (Rule I. B.).**

Please come out and support the Chiefs. Whether you compete in sport, come to cheer on a friend, or simply want to join in the excitement, Nonnewaug Athletics has something for everyone. Hope to see you at our events.

*NHS Athletics uses the FamilyID program, a secure platform that provides an easy, user-friendly way to register for our sports programs, and helps us to be more administratively efficient and environmentally responsible.

** For purpose of this rule the term “unit” refers to the traditional Carnegie Unit. A Carnegie Unit is herein defined as “200 minutes of recitation during a period of five consecutive school days for an entire school year.


Suzi Greene, Athletic Director
sgreene@ctreg14.org
5 Minortown Road Woodbury, CT 06798
(203) 263-2186

Athletics News


FamilyID will open for Fall Sports on August 1, 2017.

All athletes who wish to participate on the first day of practice MUST be registered in Family ID and have their physical checked by the nurse.

Please make sure your physical is up to date. If you get a physical this summer, be sure to get copies of the form to the main office or our school nurse, Mrs. Snabaitis prior to the first day of practice.

Football practice begins on Monday, August 14. Soccer, field hockey, cross country and volleyball begin on Thursday, August 24.

If you have specific questions for the coaches, please feel free to email as we approach the start date. Emails are listed on the website under the Coach Directory tab.

As always, thank you for supporting our programs.


Athletic Information

NHS Teams

FALL


Cross Country

Football

Soccer

Cheerleading

Field Hockey

Volleyball

WINTER


Basketball

Gymnastics

Cheerleading

Ice Hockey

Indoor Track

Swimming

Unified Sports

Wrestling


SPRING


Baseball

Softball

Track

Golf

Tennis

Unified Sports

Athletics Schedule

Monthly Athletic Calendar

Coach Directory

ATHLETIC DIRECTOR
Suzi Greene
sgreene@ctreg14.org

INTRAMURAL DIRECTOR
Kathy Brenner
kbrenner@ctreg14.org

VARSITY CHEERLEADING
Trisha Gunning
trisha.gunning1@gmail.com

VARSITY BOYS SOCCER, ASSISTANT GIRLS BASKETBALL
Toby Denman
tdenman@ctreg14.org

JUNIOR VARSITY BOYS SOCCER
Rich Feraci

VARSITY GIRLS SOCCER
VARSITY BOYS TENNIS
Nick Sheikh
NSheikh@ctreg14.org

JUNIOR VARSITY GIRLS SOCCER

VARSITY FIELD HOCKEY

JUNIOR VARSITY FIELD HOCKEY

FOOTBALL HEAD COACH
Zach Mihaly
CoachMihaly@yahoo.com

ASSISTANT COACH FOOTBALL
Ray Nappi
Raynappi31@gmail.com

ASSISTANT COACH FOOTBALL

ASSISTANT COACH FOOTBALL

ASSISTANT COACH FOOTBALL, ASSISTANT INDOOOR/OUTDOOR TRACK

VARSITY GIRLS VOLLEYBALL
Martin Malaspina
mmalaspina@ctreg14.org

ASSISTANT COACH VOLLEYBALL
Sandra Stone
bumpchick@aol.com

VARSITY CROSS COUNTRY, VARSITY INDOOR TRACK, VARSITY GIRLS OUTDOOR TRACK
Arleigh Duff
arleighduff@yahoo.com

VARSITY GIRLS BASKETBALL
Adam Brutting
abrutting@ctreg14.org

VARSITY BOYS BASKETBALL
DeVonne Parker
devonne.parker@yahoo.com

ASSISTANT BOYS BASKETBALL


VARSITY WRESTLING, WEIGHT TRAINING/CONDITIONING
Dave Green
dgreen@ctreg14.org

ASSISTANT WRESTLING
Robert DeJoseph
epsilondej@aol.com

VARSITY SWIMMING

VARSITY GYMNASTICS
Mark Sorrentino
Markytino40@att.net

ASSISTANT GYMNASTICS
Jess Piel
jpiel@ctreg14.org

VARSITY SOFTBALL
Katherine Parlato
kparlato@ctreg14.org

JV SOFTBALL
Mike Jasensky
mjasensky@ctreg14.org

ASSISTANT VARSITY SOFTBALL
Angelo Casangrande
acasagrande@ctreg14.org

VARISITY BASEBALL
Frank Melillo
frank16melillo@yahoo.com

ASSISTANT BASEBALL
Kyle Tehan
tehanky@my.easternct.edu

VARSITY GOLF
Ryan Campinario
rcampanario@ctreg14.org

UNIFIED SPORTS
John Dominello jdominello@ctreg14.org
Conor Gereg cgereg@ctreg14.org

VARSITY BOYS TRACK
Jackie Nicholas
jackieonicholas@gmail.com

GIRLS TENNIS
Christopher York
cyork@ctreg14.org

GIRLS TENNIS, ASSISTANT WRESTLING
John Lawless
jlawless@ctreg14.org

ATHLETIC TRAINER
Kimberly Domain
kdomain@ctreg14.org

CIAC Information

Student Athletic Handbook

Athletic Forms

Family ID

Buy a Yearbook or Ad

Athletic Events Calendar

There are no calendar events to display
Powered by Finalsite