July 12, 2011

A Special Meeting of the Regional School District 14 Board of Education was held on Tuesday, July 12, 2011, in the Nonnewaug High School Library, 5 Minortown Road, Woodbury, Connecticut.

<u>Present:</u> Superintendent Jody Ian Goeler; Interim Superintendent Gregory Little; Interim Business Manager Ed Arum; Board members Sophiezane Bartlett, George Bauer, John Chapman, Charles Cosgriff, John Swendsen, and Maryanne Van Aken; Board Attorney Roseann Padula; and Board Clerk Debra Carlton

<u>Absent:</u> Board members Gary Suslavich and Pamela Zmek

<u>Audience members included:</u> five members of the community and three members of the press

I. Call to Order

Dr. Little called the meeting to order at 5:35 p.m.

II. <u>Pledge of Allegiance</u>

Dr. Little led the Pledge of Allegiance

III. Election of Board Chairperson

Dr. Little noted the absence of two board members and asked whether or not to proceed with elections. Following some discussion, Ms. Van Aken entered a *motion to proceed with the election of Board Chairperson*, seconded by Mr. Cosgriff. **Motion carried 5-1**, with Ms. Bartlett, Mr. Chapman, Mr. Cosgriff, Mr. Swendsen and Ms. Van Aken voting yes, and Mr. Bauer voting no.

Dr. Little opened the floor for nominations.

Ms. Van Aken nominated Mr. Cosgriff, and Mr. Swendsen seconded the nomination.

Hearing no further nominations, the floor was closed. Mr. Cosgriff was unanimously elected Chairman of the Board of Education with six (6) affirmative votes.

IV. Election of Board Officers

Discussion of the merits of waiting to elect other officers until all board members could be present followed, after which Mr. Cosgriff entered a *motion to continue with election of officers*, seconded by Ms. Van Aken. After further discussion, that *motion was withdrawn*. Mr. Bauer entered a *motion to table the election of four remaining officers – Vice Chair, Secretary, Treasurer and Assistant Secretary/Treasurer - until July 18, 2011*, seconded by Mr. Chapman. **Motion carried 4-2**, with Mr. Bauer, Mr. Chapman, Mr. Cosgriff and Mr. Swendsen voting yes, and Ms. Bartlett and Ms. Van Aken voting no.

V. Workshop on Board Members' Legal Roles and Responsibilities

Attorney Padula led a workshop for the board members and covered many relevant topics and answered all questions posed to her.

VI. <u>Executive Session</u>

Mr. Bauer entered a motion to move to executive session for discussion and possible action on the appointment of English Department Chair/Teacher at Nonnewaug High School, and to include Mr. Goeler, Dr. Little, Mr. Arum, Atty. Padula and, for a portion of the session, Lori Ferreira. The motion was seconded by Ms. Van Aken and the motion carried 6-0.

The board moved to executive session at 7:40 pm and returned at 9:22 pm.

Page 2 of 2

VII. New Business – Faculty Appointments and Resignations

Mr. Cosgriff entered a motion to approve the appointment of Lori Ferreira as English Teacher/Department Chair, Nonnewaug High School and to accept her resignation as Principal of Nonnewaug High School subject to her remaining as high school principal until a new or interim principal is appointed. The motion was seconded by Ms. Bartlett and the motion carried 6-0.

Ms. Van Aken entered a motion to approve the appointments to teaching positions as follows:

- 1. Laura Pierson, 1.0 Mathematics Teacher, Nonnewaug High School
- 2. Kristen Pisano, 1.0 Mathematics Teacher, Nonnewaug High School
- 3. Kristen Vazquez, 1.0 Spanish Teacher, Nonnewaug High School

The motion was seconded by Mr. Swendsen and the motion carried 6-0.

- Ms. Van Aken entered a motion to approve the following resignations:
 - 1. Jessica Margiotta, English Teacher, Nonnewaug High School, effective June 30, 2011
- 2. Katherine Anderheggen, Grade 5 Teacher, Mitchell Elementary School, effective July 1, 2011 The motion was seconded by Ms. Bartlett, and the motion carried 6-0.

VIII. <u>Discussion – Administrator Search Process</u>

Copies of the administrator hiring policy were distributed for board members' and administrators' review.

IX. <u>Adjournment</u>

Mr. Swendsen entered a motion to adjourn, seconded by Ms. Van Aken. Motion carried 6-0.

The Board of Education meeting concluded at 9:31 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Debra W. Carlton, Board of Education Clerk Regional School District #14 Board of Education