

Regional School District No. 14 Towns of Bethlehem and Woodbury

Dr. Robert D. Cronin, Superintendent of Schools
5 Minortown Road – PO Box 469
Woodbury, Connecticut 06798
Telephone: 203 263-4339
Fax: 203 263-0372

Email: rcronin@ctreg14.org

We, the educational community of the Region #14 School District, are dedicated to creating a quality, dynamic learning environment so that each individual learner becomes a respected contributing member of the community with values, skills and resources that promote the advancement of society.

Board of Education Meeting

Date: Tuesday, August 24, 2010
Time: 7:30 p.m.
Place: Nonnewaug High School Library

MEETING AGENDA

- I. <u>Call to Order</u>- Stephen Sordi
- II. Pledge of Allegiance
- III. Review of Minutes (action anticipated)
 - 1. Special Board Meeting of July 6, 2010
 - 2. Special Board Meeting of July 20, 2010
- IV. Correspondence
- V. <u>Report from Chairman</u>
 - 1. Update on legal matters with regards to the reconfiguration lawsuit (Executive Session anticipated)
 - 2. Discussion and possible action on reconfiguration lawsuit
 - 3. Discussion on reconfiguration next steps
- VI. Report from Superintendent
 - Opening Schedule
 - 2. Annual Yearly Progress
 - 3. Administrator Negotiations

VII. Privilege of the Floor

The Board welcomes commentary from members of the community regarding agenda items or other topics of interest. The participating time will be limited to (3) minutes per person and (20) minutes overall to guarantee efficient operation of the meeting. In the event of a lengthy agenda, the (20) minute limit may be modified. Citizens wishing to make comments are requested to fill out the speaker sign-up sheet prior to the start of the meeting, recording their name and address, which must also be stated at the beginning of their public comment. Courtesy is expected during privilege of the floor, and we request that speakers be concise and respectful in their comments. Gossip, defamatory comments, abusive or vulgar language will not be permitted. Speakers are asked not to be repetitious of comments already made to the Board. Public comment is normally not invited for topics listed for action after having been publicly discussed at one or more meetings. Comments will be heard and considered. Generally, the Board will not discuss or address or act on an item not on the agenda. The primary purpose of the meeting is for the Board to conduct its business as charged by law. Spontaneous discussion, as well as disorder or disruption, prevent the Board from doing its work and will not be permitted.

VIII. Report from Director of Finance and Operations

- 1. Facilities
- Technology
- Transportation
- Food Services
- 5. Finances

IX. Old Business (action anticipated)

Board of Education Regular Meeting Dates through December 2010

X. New Business (action anticipated)

Personnel

A. Approval of Faculty/Staff Appointments

- Leonard Tomasello, Ed.D., Interim Principal, Mitchell Elementary School, effective August 5, 2010 and continuing until a permanent replacement is secured
- ii. Neill Berggren, 1.0 Spanish Teacher, Woodbury Middle School
- iii. Christina Lewis, 1.0 Technology/In-School Suspension Instructional Support
- iv. Michelle L. Perry, 1.0 Mathematics Teacher, Nonnewaug High School

B. Approval of Resignations

- Brian Bisson, Special Education Teacher, Nonnewaug High School, effective June 30, 2010
- Paige Davenport, Mathematics Teacher, Nonnewaug High School, effective August 1, 2010
- iii. Kathleen Ghounem, Spanish Teacher, Woodbury Middle School, effective July 27, 2010
- iv. Julie Haggard, Special Education Teacher, Woodbury Middle School, effective August 14, 2010
- v. Daniel Scavone, Dean of Students/Athletic Director, Nonnewaug High School, effective August 13, 2010

C. Approval of Appointment to Extra Duty Positions

i. Nonnewaug High School (non-athletic)

Assistant FFA - Sarah LaRose

Debate Club - Kim Uniacke/Michael Sturges

DECA – Devon Bares

Detention Monitor- Dianne Lopresti

Equilibrium Group (Diversity Club) – Marcia Peterson

Drama School-wide – Lucia Dressel

Electrathon Club - Melissa Yard

Envirothon Club – Christopher York/Erica Foster

FBLA - Barbara Losee

FFA – William Davenport/Erika Petersson

Freshman Class – Brenda Cleary-Williams

Guitar Club - Stephen Bunovsky

Intramurals Advisor – Christopher York/Kathryn Brenner

Junior Class - Lucia Dressel

Latin America Club – Jane Caruso

Leo Club – Betsy Lyle/Laurie Paparazzo

Literacy Magazine/Club – Jessica Piel

Media Technician – Roger Parkhouse

National Arts Honor Society – Leeza Desjardins

National Honor Society - Taryn Fernandez

Newspaper – Marisa Holtman

Peer Connection - Sharon Gomes

Robotics Club - Michael Murphy

SAT English - Thomas Hahn

SAT Math - Kevin Clemente

Select Singers Club – Walter Culup

Senior Class Activities – Pamela Sordi/Maggie Gildea

Senior Class – Lucia Dressel

Sophomore Class – Susan McNally

Spirit Committee – Leeza Desjardins

Stage Club – Roger Parkhouse

STAND (new) - Katherine Parlato

Student Activities Coordinator – Mary Ann Martins

Student Council - Michael Sturges

TEAM - Katherine Parlato

Tri-M Honors Society - Walter Culup

Webmaster - Lisa Gombos

Weight Training/Conditioning Club – Angelo Casagrande/David Green

ii. Woodbury Middle School (athletic and non-athletic)

Art Club – Linda Pfenninger

Athletic Director - Christopher McGrath

Baseball Coach - Ryan Campanario

Boys Basketball – Ronald Russo/Christopher McGrath

Boys Soccer - Adam Brutting

Cheerleading Coach – Ericka Banhan

Cross Country Coach – Erin Keating/Charles Von Hollen

Drama Club – Linda Pfenninger

Field Hockey Coach - Lauren Valla

Forensics Club (Super Sleuths) – George Slowikowski

Girls Basketball Coach - Adam Brutting

Girls Soccer Coach – Ryan Campanario

Grade 6 Homework Club – George Slowikowski

Grade 7 Homework Club - Maude Chasse

Grade 8 Homework Club – Jennifer Armour

Grade 6 Team Leader -Lauren Valla

Grade 7 Team Leader – Adam Brutting

Grade 8 Team Leader – Eileen Carey

Green Club (new) – Kathleen Peterson

Lego Club (Mind Challenges) - Elaine Peck/Millie Hauser

Leo Club – Jacqueline Smith

Multi-Media Club – Elaine Peck

Outdoor Club – Melissa Bernardi Fitzpatrick/Kimberly Caldwell

Promote Reading Club – Joanna Gaffney/Kimberly Caldwell

SHOC – Joy Geraci/Debra O'Leary

Softball Coach - Charles Von Hollen

Spirit Club - Krista Forte

Steel Band Club - Michael Gardner

Student Council - Jennifer Armour

Tech Ed Club – Elaine Peck

Track Coach - Adam Brutting/Lauren Valla

Unified Arts Team Leader - Elaine Peck

Webmaster - Kimberly Caldwell

World Cultures Club - Maude Chasse/Joanna Gaffney

Yearbook - Melissa Bernardi Fitzpatrick/Kim Caldwell

iii. Mitchell Elementary School

Webmaster - Christina Lewis

iv. Bethlehem Elementary School

Odyssey of the Mind – Arlene Campbell

Team Leader - Melissa Colby

Webmaster – Bridgette Gomez

XI. Board Announcements

XII. <u>Privilege of the Floor</u>

XIII. <u>Executive Session (action anticipated)</u>

- 1. Discussion and possible action on Custodian Contract
- 2. Appointment of Legal Counsel

XIV. Adjournment